IMCS Pax Romana SUMMER SCHOOL 2017 In Indonesia

The IMCS-Pax Romana 2017 Summer School took place on Flores Island in the province of East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia. Facilitated by Perhimpunan Mahasiswa Katolik Republik Indonesia (PMKRI), It was 10 days event, travelling from Larantuka in the far east, to Labuan bajo on the west coast.

The theme of the summer school was: “Student in Solidarity: reaching peripheries through social immersion and training session on Human right and Social justice”. The participants, had the opportunity not only to get theoretical knowledge on these subjects but also had practical experiences related to access to water and quality education.

The session of Flores-Indonesia from 7th to 17th July brought together 50 students from 23 countries of  the 4 corners of the world to build praxis in a multicultural environment on the socialization and implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals. This was a real opportunity to develop awareness of students about the challenges facing humanity in an unstable international context marked by religious conflicts, plagued resignation to individualism and the deterioration of the conditions of life of vulnerable populations.

In addition to the importance for students to have international intercultural contacts to deepen their analytical skills and their openness, it has been shown significant or urgent need to operationalize consistent frameworks for youth exchange, conduct discussions, to be trained and learn to act on situations according to the teaching of the social doctrine of the church and particularly of the encyclical Laudato Si. It was also the time to exchange on the SDGs which need to be achieved for the next 13 years.

The proposed activities are a life transforming opportunity for participants to the extent that it is given them to discover other realities, exchange with students from other countries, to acquire theoretical and practical skills enabling them to challenge and take personal and collective initiatives to return to their home countries for the promotion of human rights and fundamental human values.

This summer school has the particularity to happen in different cities of Flores Island and had different kind of activities

  • Training sessions on Intercultural dialogue, Human right, Leadership and social justice
  • Cultural meetings with indigenous communities
  • Exposures
  • Physical participation to the activities of renovation of a school building and mosque building

A video summarizing the activities is available online here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDX3ibXAJGM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...

ECOLE D’ÉTÉ 2017 du MIEC Pax Romana en Indonésie

L’école d’été du MIEC-Pax Romana 2017 a eu lieu sur l’île de Flores dans la province de Nusa Tenggara, en Indonésie. Animé par Perhimpunan Mahasiswa Katolik Republik Indonésie (PMKRI), c’était un événement de 10 jours, qui allait de Larantuka à l’extrême est, à Labuan Bajo sur la côte ouest.

Le thème de l’école d’été était «Étudiants en solidarité: atteindre les périphéries par l’immersion sociale et la formation en droits humains et  justice sociale». Les participants ont eu l’occasion non seulement d’acquérir des connaissances théoriques sur ces sujets, mais aussi des expériences pratiques liées à l’accès à l’eau et à une éducation de qualité.

La session de Flores-Indonésie du 7 au 17 juillet a réuni 50 étudiants venus de 23 pays des 4 coins du monde pour construire des praxis dans un environnement multiculturel sur la socialisation et la mise en œuvre des Objectifs de Développement Durable. Il s’agissait d’une réelle opportunité pour sensibiliser les étudiants aux défis auxquels l’humanité est confrontée dans un contexte international instable marqué par des conflits religieux, une démission affligeante face à l’individualisme et la dégradation des conditions de vie des populations vulnérables.

En plus de l’importance pour les étudiants d’avoir des contacts interculturels internationaux pour approfondir leurs compétences analytiques et leur ouverture, il a été démontré qu’il est urgent ou urgent de mettre en place des cadres cohérents pour l’échange des jeunes, de mener des discussions, d’apprendre à agir en référence à l’enseignement social de l’église et particulièrement à  l’encyclique Laudato Si. C’était aussi le moment d’échanger sur les ODD qui doivent être atteints pour les 13 prochaines années.

Les activités proposées sont une opportunité de transformer la vie des participants dans la mesure où elles leur permettent de découvrir d’autres réalités, d’échanger avec des étudiants d’autres pays, d’acquérir des compétences théoriques et pratiques leur permettant de défier et de prendre des initiatives personnelles et collectives au retour à leur pays d’origine pour la promotion des droits de l’homme et des valeurs humaines fondamentales.

Cette école d’été a eu la particularité de se produire dans différentes villes de l’île de Flores et a été meublée par différents types d’activités

  • Sessions de formation en dialogue interculturel, Droits humains, leadership et  justice sociale
  • Rencontres culturelles avec les communautés indigènes
  • Immersions sociales
  • Participations physique aux activités de rénovation de bâtiments scolaires et de construction d’une mosquée

Une vidéo résumant les activités est disponible en ligne ici: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDX3ibXAJGM

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Loading...