FINAL DECLARATION OF IMCS STUDY SESSION ON MIGRATION AND MIGRATION ISSUES

“Building Bridges: Protecting Migrants by Empowering Students”
International Movement of Catholic Students – Pax Romana
“You shall treat the stranger who sojourns with you as the native among you, and you shall love him as yourself, for you were strangers in the land of Egypt: I am the Lord your God” (Leviticus 19:34).
Introduction
From 28 August to 3 September 2017, the International Movement of Catholic Students (IMCS – Pax Romana) organised a study session in Foligno, Italy under the theme “Building Bridges: Protecting Migrants by Empowering Students”. The purpose of the session was to provide participants with a better understanding of the global migration phenomenon, and the challenges and implications  associated with it. Participants were equipped with the relevant knowledge and capacity to provide just solutions to issues facing migrants and refugees in their local communities. Forty young Catholic students participated in the session. These young people came from across the world, and represented Catholic student movements in Africa, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and North America.
Building on the reflections of the participants, not only on core Catholic Social Teaching (CST) perspectives, but also on the challenges expressed by those working with and for migrants and refugees, as well as migrants themselves, this statement is the expression of the will of IMCS – Pax Romana to contribute to the common good and justice for migrants and refugees throughout the world.
The Global Situation
People affected by natural disasters, war, and other realities that oblige them to move from their countries of origin to another are facing challenges to their rights and dignity. Although the mobility of people has been a central feature of the growth and development of human civilisation, societies have been unable to provide just solutions to migration in accordance with human rights and international commitments. Migration, in some contexts, is unfortunately considered a problem, with little attention given to the sacred life of the people. Often migrants and refugees are treated as though they have less dignity than others. Moreover, the lack of a global legal framework around the situation of migrants adds to the inability of the international community to deal with the migration
phenomenon.
Within the international legal system, there is far greater protection for refugees, migrants fleeing a situation of persecution in their country of origin, thanks to the relief provided by the Geneva  Conventions. Still, even with these mechanisms in place, refugees still suffer terrible injustices, discrimination, and even violence as they endure the often complex and drawn out legal process of their particular asylum case.
There is no doubt that much more must be done to properly deal with the global migration phenomenon and uphold the human rights of those who leave their countries in search of a better life. Those who are leaving their countries, those who are in need of welcoming arms, they are our brothers and sisters. We can not view them as simply a statistic.
Our Commitment
IMCS – Pax Romana, as a youth-led organisation rooted in CST, commits itself to respond to the call to live as Christ did. We encourage our national movements to facilitate grassroots action in order to welcome migrants into in our communities. We commit to empower our members and all young people to advocate on behalf of refugees and migrants in our countries and regions across the world. We will mobilise our networks through all platforms in which we are engaged to advocate for the rights of migrants and refugees, as well as raise awareness around the issues.
Recommendations
The International Movement of Catholic Students calls upon all governments, local authorities, and other political entities to :
  1. Respect and recognise the human rights of all migrants searching for a better life away from their countries of origin;
  2. Do everything possible to welcome political refugees into your society and ensure that while their asylum hearing is ongoing, their human rights are protected and they are given the right to work and support themselves as to guarantee good quality of life;
  3. Engage all stakeholders in communities where refugees have settled to foster understanding and prevent discrimination and xenophobia;
  4. Recognise the unique circumstances of economic migrants, both voluntary and involuntary, and work with all stakeholders to protect migrants’ human rights;
  5. Ensure the adoption and implementation of national and local policies that provide for the needs of economic migrants;
  6. Realise the call of the Holy Father Pope Francis in his address on the occasion of the Feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary To Welcome, To Protect, To Promote, and To Integrate migrants and refugees into their host societies;
  7. Work towards bringing about a just solution to the conflicts and crises that plague multiple countries in the world through diplomacy and mediation, while avoiding any actions that may exacerbate the severity of these conflicts;
  8. Implement fully the commitments made under the Paris Agreement and work with all stakeholders to combat climate change as to help prevent the impending climate refugee crisis;
  9. Implement fully the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and fulfill the internationally agreed obligation to leave no one behind, particularly refugees and migrants;
  10. Participate meaningfully in the intergovernmental negotiations around the United Nations Global Compact on Refugees and the Global Compact on Migration and help ensure the adoption of a more just global policy framework to better handle this phenomenon;
  11. Engage meaningfully with the major groups and other stakeholders (MGoS) that participate in the intergovernmental negotiations of the two compacts, in particular the UN Major Group for Children and Youth (UN MGCY), and ensure that their positions and priorities are reflected in the outcomes;
  12. Take strides to make meaningful financial and other commitments around the UN Global Compact on Refugees and the Global Compact on Migration.

IMCS – Pax Romana calls upon the leaders of its national movements and regional coordinations, the Catholic Church, its dioceses and Parishes, as well as individual Catholics across the world, to embrace the example of Christ, feeding the hungry, quenching the thirsty, welcoming the stranger, clothing the naked, visiting the sick. IMCS – Pax Romana calls upon all Catholics to :

  1. Welcome migrants and refugees into Parishes and Catholic communities, recognising each one of them as an equal human person, with full dignity and identity, to strive toward a shared experience in faith, bringing one another closer to Christ, through our actions and our prayers;
  2. Engage with members of other faiths and Christian denominations to combat xenophobia and foster an enabling environment for the integration of migrants into society.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...

DÉCLARATION FINALE DE LA SESSION D’ÉTUDE DE MIEC SUR LA MIGRATION ET SES DÉFIS

Construire des ponts : Protéger les migrants en capacitant les étudiants
Mouvement International des Etudiants Catholiques – Pax Romana
Quand un étranger viendra s’installer dans votre pays, ne l’exploitez pas ; au contraire, traitez-le comme s’il était l’un de vos compatriotes : vous devez l’aimer comme vous-mêmes. Rappelez-vous que vous avez aussi été des étrangers en Egypte. Je suis le Seigneur votre Dieu.” (Lévitique 19:34).
Introduction
Du 28 Août au 3 Septembre 2017, le Mouvement international des étudiants catholiques (MIEC – Pax Romana) a organisé une session d’étude à Foligno, Italie sous le thème « Construire des ponts : Protéger les migrants en capacitant les étudiants ». Le but de cette session était de permettre aux participants de mieux comprendre le phénomène mondial de la migration ainsi que les défis et les conséquences qui en découlent. Les participants ont reçu les connaissances et les capacités pertinentes pour trouver des solutions justes aux problèmes auxquels font face les migrants et les réfugiés dans leurs communautés locales. Quarante jeunes étudiants catholiques ont participé à la session. Ces jeunes sont venus du monde entier et représentaient les mouvements estudiantins catholiques de l’Afrique, l’Asie- Pacifique, l’Europe, l’Amérique Latine, du Moyen Orient et de l’Amérique du Nord.
Partant des réflexions des participants, pas seulement sur les perspectives essentielles de la Doctrine sociale de l’Eglise catholique (DSE) mais aussi sur les défis présentés par ceux qui travaillent avec et pour les migrants et les réfugiés, ainsi que par les migrants eux-mêmes, cette déclaration est l’expression de la volonté de MIEC – Pax Romana de contribuer au bien commun et à la justice pour les migrants et réfugiés partout dans le monde.
La situation mondiale
Les gens affectés par les catastrophes naturelles, la guerre, et d’autres réalités qui les obligent à quitter leurs pays d’origine pour d’autres pays voient leurs droits et dignité menacés. Bien que la mobilité des personnes soit un facteur essentiel pour la croissance et le développement de la civilisation humaine, les sociétés ont été incapables de trouver des solutions justes à la migration conformément aux droits de l’homme et aux engagements internationaux. La migration, dans certains contextes, est malheureusement considérée comme un problème, avec peu d’attention accordée à la vie sacrée des personnes. Souvent les migrants et les réfugiés sont traités comme s’ils avaient moins de dignité que les autres. De plus, l’absence d’un cadre légal mondial concernant la situation des migrants augmente l’incapacité de la communauté internationale de faire face au phénomène de la migration.
Au sein du système légal international, beaucoup plus de protection est accordé aux réfugiés, migrants fuyant la persécution dans leur pays d’origine, grâce aux secours accordés par les conventions de Genève. Mais, malgré la mise en place de ces mécanismes, les réfugiés souffrent toujours d’incroyables injustices, de la discrimination, et même de la violence, puisqu’ils subissent le processus légal de leur demande d’asile, un processus souvent compliqué et interminable.
Il n’y a pas de doute qu’il faut faire beaucoup plus d’efforts pour bien traiter le phénomène mondial de la migration et faire respecter les droits de l’homme de ceux qui quittent leurs pays à la recherche d’une vie meilleure. Ceux qui quittent leurs pays, ceux qui ont besoin de bras ouverts sont nos frères et sœurs. Nous ne pouvons pas les considérer comme de simples chiffres.
Notre engagement
MIEC – Pax Romana, en tant qu’organisation dirigée par des jeunes et ancrée dans la DES, s’engage à répondre à l’appel qui nous invite à vivre comme le Christ. Nous encourageons nos mouvements nationaux à faciliter l’action au niveau de la base pour accueillir des migrants dans nos communautés. Nous nous engageons à capaciter nos membres et tous les jeunes pour qu’ils défendent la cause des réfugiées et migrants dans nos pays et régions et dans le monde entier. Nous mobiliserons nos réseaux à travers toutes les plateformes dans lesquelles nous sommes impliqués pour défendre les droits des migrants et des réfugiés, ainsi que pour susciter une prise de conscience concernant ces questions.
Recommandations
Le Mouvement international des étudiants catholiques appelle tous les gouvernements, autorités locales et autres entités politiques à :
  1. Respecter et reconnaitre les droits de l’homme de tous les migrants qui cherchent une vie meilleure loin de leurs pays d’origine ;
  2. Faire tout leur possible pour accueillir les réfugiés politiques dans leurs sociétés et s’assurer que pendant que leur audience d’asile est en cours, leurs droits sont protégés et qu’ils ont le droit de travailler et de gagner leur vie ce qui leur garantit une bonne qualité de vie ;
  3. Impliquer toutes les parties prenantes dans les communautés où les réfugiés se sont installés pour favoriser la compréhension et empêcher la discrimination et la xénophobie ;
  4. Reconnaître les circonstances uniques des migrants économiques, volontaires et involontaires, et œuvrer avec toutes les parties prenantes pour protéger les droits des migrants ;
  5. S’assurer de l’adoption et de l’application de politiques nationales et locales qui répondent aux besoins des migrants économiques ;
  6. Prendre conscience de l’appel de sa sainteté Pape François dans son adresse à l’occasion de la fête de l’assomption de la Sainte Vierge Marie à accueillir, protéger, promouvoir et intégrer les migrants et les réfugiés dans leurs communautés hôtes ;
  7. Œuvrer pour trouver une solution juste pour les conflits et les crises qui pèsent sur différents pays dans le monde à travers la diplomatie et la médiation, tout en évitant toute action qui pourrait aggraver ces conflits ;
  8. Entièrement appliquer les engagements pris sous l’accord de Paris et œuvrer avec toutes les parties prenantes pour combattre le changement climatique afin d’empêcher l’éminente crise de réfugiés climatiques ;
  9. Entièrement appliquer le Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 et les Objectifs de développement durable (ODDs) et respecter l’engagement mondial de ne laisser personne pour compte, notamment les réfugiés et les migrants ;
  10. Participer activement aux négociations intergouvernementales autour du Pacte mondial des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et du Pacte mondial pour la migration et contribuer à l’adoption d’un cadre mondial de politiques plus justes pour mieux traiter ce phénomène ;
  11. S’engager activement aux côtés des grands groupes et autres parties prenantes qui participent aux négociations intergouvernementales des deux pactes, notamment le Grand groupe des enfants et des jeunes, et s’assurer que leurs positions et priorités se reflètent dans les résultats ;
  12. Faire des efforts pour prendre des engagements financiers significatifs et d’autres engagements autour du Pacte mondial des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et du Pacte mondial pour la migration.

MIEC – Pax Romana appelle les dirigeants de ses mouvements nationaux et coordinations régionales, l’Eglise catholique, ses diocèses et paroisses, ainsi que les Catholiques dans le monde, à suivre l’exemple du Christ, nourrir les affamés, étancher la soif des assoiffés, accueillir les étrangers, vêtir les nus, visiter les malades. MIEC – Pax Romana appelle tous les catholiques à :

  1. Accueillir les migrants et les réfugiés dans les paroisses et les communautés catholiques, reconnaître en chacun d’eux un être humain comme nous, avec une dignité et identité, avancer vers une expérience commune de foi, rapprocher les autres du Christ, à travers nos actions et prières ;
  2. S’engager aux côtés de membres d’autres religions et confessions chrétiennes pour combattre la xénophobie et créer un environnement favorable à l’intégration des migrants dans la société.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Loading...